Blog Tour Review + INTL Giveaway: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen // finally, a good love triangle

And as I lunge and whirl my bo staff, dancing to the ancient drum beats, I feel all the parts of myself coming together: glad that a part of me is Chinese, a part of me American, and all of me is simply me.

Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen is one of my most anticipated 2020 releases. From its absolutely riveting cover, to its own voices Asian representation, there was no way I wasn’t gonna read it. When Karina @ Afire Pages posted the sign-ups for the blog tour, I immediately jumped at the chance to join (never mind that this post is late—I’m sorry for that)!

Thank you so much to the publisher for granting me an e-arc via Edelweiss!

A big reason why I wanted to read Loveboat, Taipei so much was because it centers on characters spending the summer in Taiwan learning Mandarin. In 2019, I did the exact same thing, except I went to China and not Taiwan! Reading about Ever and her friends’ experiences made me remember my memories from my own trip. I even found myself relating to a few of the shenanigans they went through!

Image result for happy child gif"

Fair warning: This book features a love triangle. But fear not! In my opinion, it was handled super well. For a while, I genuinely had no clue who Ever was gonna end up with, and both men in the love triangle had their own “pros and cons.”

The main reason why I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I could’ve was the pacing. At 423 pages, this book is on the long side, especially for a contemporary. I didn’t think that it needed to be that long. There were many parts wherein what’s going to happen next is fairly obvious, yet the book dragged instead of getting to Point X already.

Image result for frustration gif"

Loveboat, Taipei stars a huge cast of all-Asian (!!) characters, and I loved that every character, even the minor ones, were properly fleshed out.

Ever Wong, the main character, is the child of first-generation immigrants. Her parents have sacrificed everything for her, and they’ve planned for her to go to med school her entire life. However, Ever can’t handle the sight of blood, and all she wants to do is dance.

Why give me honey when you knew my future was diabetic?

It was so easy to empathize with Ever’s struggles, because on one hand, she knows what her heart wants, but her parents have also done so much for her. The passion she felt for dancing was palpable on the page, and you could tell how happy dancing—or even just choreographing a dance—made Ever.

At the same time, she (and, to be honest, most of the characters) made a few choices that were a tad frustrating, but I loved that this added realism to their characters, because we can’t expect teens—or anyone, really—to be perfect human beings.

Xavier Yeh is the brooding bad boy we’ve seen about a million times in fiction, and I wasn’t here for it. His character was given more depth in the end, but I honestly didn’t care. :/

Rick Woo is every Asian parent’s dream child—smart, sporty, charismatic—but we get to see what’s hiding under his seemingly perfect exterior. Undoubtedly my favorite character in the book, he was the perfect balance between nerdy and charming, and some of his moments with Ever made me swoon so much.

Image result for love gif"

Overall…
3 stars!

Set against the backdrop of Taiwan, this unapologetically Asian story is about love and finding yourself. It tackles so many relevant issues: financial privilege, Asian stereotypes, beauty standards—too many to count. I would’ve loved it so much more if I hadn’t had such a hard time with the pacing. But take my rating with a grain of salt, because a lot of early reviewers have given this 4 or 5 stars!

About the Book

23559994. sy475

Published: January 7th 2020 by HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance

Series: Loveboat, Taipei #1

Links: Goodreads | Book Depository (affiliate link)

Content Warningssexual content, drinking, attempted sexual assault, abusive parent, depressed side character, slut-shaming


For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

About the Author

Abigail Hing Wen is a Silicon Valley venture lawyer working with AI startups. She is a Vermont College of Fine Arts graduate, Wild Things blogger, and YA writer of her debut, Loveboat, Taipei. Stay up to date with all news on her website.

View the tour schedule.

DECEMBER 16

DECEMBER 17

DECEMBER 18

DECEMBER 19

DECEMBER 20

Click HERE to enter the giveaway!


Have you read Loveboat, Taipei? Are you anticipating its release? Can we please yell about its cover together?

21 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review + INTL Giveaway: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen // finally, a good love triangle

  1. Hi Caitlin!
    Great review. This book has been on my radar for a while so I was excited to read your thoughts. Usually I don’t like love triangles, but glad that you felt it was done well in this book. I love nerdy and charming boys too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Personally, I don’t have an opinion on love triangles. I honestly don’t mind them, but I don’t prefer them, because it’s usually obvious who the MC is gonna end up with anyway. But I loved that I was actually uncertain about who Ever would choose for a while!

      Like

    1. it really is! the fact that it features an asian girl front and center makes it even better! hmmm, honestly if you’re adamantly against love triangles, i wouldn’t read this book because it has those cliches that call to mind the YA books of old. but it kinda takes those cliches and makes it something new. plus, both of the guys have an equal chance for the majority of the book, so you genuinely don’t know who Ever could end up with! maybe you could try this book & see if you still dislike love triangle after reading it? i really hope you enjoy it though <33

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been so excited for this one ever since I started seeing all the reviews and hype! though I’d been avoiding the specifics since I like going into a book with minimal pre-knowledge, it’s definitely preferable to be forewarned about the love triangle and I’m glad to hear it’s not just for drama purposes (as so many books seem to use it).

    the rep sounds fantastic, as do the broader social themes – I’m sorry it didn’t quite live up to your expectations, but I’m still looking forward to reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. same! as soon as i saw its cover and found out its premise, i was anticipating its release 😍 yes, i think that it’s best to warn people about that because love triangles are still kind of a controversial topic in the book community. i do think that in loveboat, taipei, the love triangle was understandable though. i loved that the author was able to convince me that the feelings of all the main characters were realistic!

      the rep is fantastic, as #ownvoices rep always is!! yeah, i’m bummed because i really thought that i was gonna rate this 4 or 5 stars like everyone else, but the pacing just wasn’t doing it for me :((

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Look at you being AWESOME on this tour!! I can’t wait to read this one, really keen on reading more Asian books 🙂

    Also omg YAY for a good triangle. And there’s dancing?!?! YESSSS.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aww, I’m so glad that you think that! i felt bad because this post was almost a month late lmao 😂 I hope you enjoy it more than I did, and yessss, reading more books my Asian authors is always a good choice!!

      YES, I finally know why some people are a fan of love triangles!! even though I really didn’t like one of the men in this one, oops. And the dancing was portrayed so well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great review, love!! Darn, it’s a bummer about the pacing, because otherwise, I imagine this one would’ve been even more enjoyable for you! ❤ I'm glad that you were able to connect with the experiences Ever and her friends had on their trip to Taiwain with yours to China! That is so cool and probably added such a neat connection for you to the story! I'm glad that the love triangle is actually handled well (a rare occurrence nowadays lol) and all the characters are fleshed out! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great review!! I just saw everyone on the blogosphere crazy about it, and it’s good to know I’ll have to adjust my expectations, especially because I hadn’t realized the book was /that/ long, and yes, I’ll believe you on that pacing thing. But I’m hoping I’ll really enjoy it! If everything goes according to plan, I’ll read it in February 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m sad that I didn’t love this as much as everyone else :// I think it’s important for people to be aware of this book’s length, because I honestly didn’t think it needed to be that long, haha! But I really hope you enjoy it more than I did! 💗

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s